Hopkinton, MA
Hopkinton, US
7:32 pm, Sunday, April 14, 2024
temperature icon 27°F
Humidity 51 %
Wind Gust: 10 mph


Biden, Haley cruise to victory in Hopkinton Super Tuesday presidential primary

by | Mar 6, 2024 | Featured: News, News

President Joe Biden handily won the Super Tuesday Democratic presidential primary in Hopkinton, while Republican challenger Nikki Haley bested former President Donald Trump by a wide margin.

Town Clerk Connor Degan released the unofficial results at 10:39 p.m.

Biden garnered 1,416 of the 1,664 Democratic presidential votes cast, trouncing his competitors. Ninety-two voters selected no preference, while Dean Phillips received 80 votes. Marianne  Williamson got 34 votes. There were 29 write-in votes and 13 blanks cast.

On the Republican side, Haley received 924 votes, handily beating Trump’s 669. Twenty-one voters chose no preference, while 17 voted for Chris Christie. Vivek Ramaswamy got 11 votes. Asa Hutchinson received two votes, while Ryan Binkley got a sole vote. There were seven write-ins and four blanks cast.

Statewide, Biden and Trump were expected to win, according to an Associated Press projection. With 75% of precincts reporting, Biden had 83% of the Democrats’ votes, while Trump had 60% percent of the Republicans’ votes, compared to Haley’s 37%.

Locally, Framingham state Rep. Jack Lewis earned 1,301 votes for Democratic State Committee Man. Select Board member Mary Jo LaFreniere received 1,259 votes for Democratic State Committee Woman. Those seats were uncontested.

On the Republican side, Nicolas Blaize Miceli received 978 votes for Republican State Committee Man. Leanne J. Yarosz-Harris got 967 votes. Both seats were uncontested.

The following people were elected to the Democratic State Committee:

  • Amy Groves
  • Richard Duggan
  • Ellen Rutter
  • Amy Ritterbusch
  • Mary Jo LaFreniere
  • Mary Jo Ondrechen
  • Lya Batlle-Rafferty
  • Maureen Bumiller
  • Nancy Richards-Cavanaugh
  • Michael Cook
  • Connor Degan
  • Christine Dietz
  • Nancy Drawe
  • Mary Duggan
  • Doris Early
  • Lesley Ficarri
  • Jennifer Flanagan
  • Jessica Fleet
  • Laura Hanson
  • Andrew Hayes
  • Darlene Hayes
  • Jessica King
  • Michael King
  • Janine LeBlanc
  • Nasiba Mannan
  • Shahidul Mannan
  • Kyla McSweeney
  • Peter Mimmo
  • John Morris
  • Adam Munroe
  • Irfan Nasrullah
  • Garry Russell
  • Beth Watson
  • Janine Wheeler-Ristaino
  • Cary Carter

The following people were elected to the Republican State Committee:

  • Ken Weismantel
  • Jim Mirabile
  • Leda Arakelian
  • William Muench
  • Lisa Ann Henneberry
  • Vascen Bogigian
  • Christopher Alicandro
  • Henry Kunicki
  • Eric Sonnett
  • Tracy Martellotta
  • William Rogers Jr.
  • John Coutinho
  • Denise Antaki

1 Comment

  1. Tim

    When is the official Selectman Vote?


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Key Storage 4.14.22