Hopkinton, MA
Hopkinton, US
3:22 pm, Tuesday, April 23, 2024
temperature icon 27°F
Humidity 51 %
Wind Gust: 10 mph


Schools Notebook: Rivard earns OMEGA scholarship

by | Mar 20, 2024 | Education

Vienna Rivard was awarded a Massachusetts Institute of Technology OMEGA scholarship for her work founding an intergenerational book club in Hopkinton.

The MIT AgeLab awards annual scholarships to high school students who lead or develop intergenerational programs — initiatives designed to bring together younger and older people — in their communities. On Sept. 29, five $5,000 OMEGA (Opportunities for Multigenerational Exchange, Growth and Action) scholarships were given to high school students across the United States, with support from AARP Massachusetts. An additional $1,000 was awarded to each winning program to help sustain and grow the students’ efforts.

Rivard, a 2023 Hopkinton High School graduate and now a student at the University of Massachusetts Amherst, founded an intergenerational feminist book club, connecting students with members of the Hopkinton Women’s Club. The group gathers students and older adults to engage in discussion about their readings, attend field trips to local historical museums, and share their past and present experiences as women. The group originally met over Zoom before moving to community settings, including the outdoors and the local library.

Local collegians shine

Earning spots on the dean’s list at Fairfield University were Nathalie Bates, Andrew D’Alleva, Frank Incutto, Michael Liptak, Dylan Prefontaine and Joseph Scardino. …

At Bryant University, Michael Ambrosone and Dennis Field were named to the president’s list, while Kyle Bertucci-Bissonnette, Shawn Haley, Alyssa Swerdlick and Jacqueline Zeigler were named to the dean’s list. …

Emily Champlin earned a spot on the dean’s list at Coastal Carolina University. …

At Tufts University, senior Grace Ye, junior Sasha Fomin, sophomore Matt Burdulis and freshman Anjali Batra were named to the dean’s list. …

At Emerson College, sophomore Kara Diune and freshman Merin Rhodes, both majoring in media arts production, were named to the dean’s list. …

Kayali Pandian, a sophomore neuroscience major, was named to the dean’s list at Dickinson College in Pennsylvania. …

Alannah Miller was named to the dean’s list at Ursinus College in Pennsylvania.

Earning spots on the dean’s list at Endicott College were Owen Bradley, a business management major, and Cole Deisenroth, a graphic design major. …

Maya Zent graduated from the University of Wisconsin-Madison with a B.S. in biology.

Editor’s note: Information for college honors is provided by the schools. Those interested in being included in this section should forward the official notification or request for the school to email it to editor@hopkintonindependent.com.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Key Storage 4.14.22