Hopkinton, MA
Hopkinton, US
6:11 am, Saturday, July 13, 2024
temperature icon 73°F
Humidity 94 %
Wind Gust: 7 mph


College Honors: Local students graduate from Boston College

by | Jun 3, 2021 | Education

Harry Shanmugam

Hopkinton’s Harry Shanmugam (center) receives the Edward H. Finnegan Award from Boston College president William P. Leahy as Board of Trustees chair John Fish looks on during BC’s graduation exercises May 24. PHOTO/LEE PELLEGRINI/BOSTON COLLEGE

Boston College held its graduation ceremonies on May 24, and a number of Hopkinton residents were recognized. Most notably, Hopkinton’s Hariharan “Harry” Shanmugam received the Edward H. Finnegan, S.J., Award, the school’s highest undergraduate commencement honor. The award goes to the graduating senior who best exemplifies Boston College’s motto, “Ever to Excel.”

Shanmugam graduated summa cum laude with a B.S. from the honors program in the the Carroll School of Management.

Other residents who received a degree from BC include Katie Baratta (Connell School of Nursing), Chris Burdick (Carroll School of Management), Jack MacDonald (Morrissey College of Arts and Sciences), Grace Marquedant (magna cum laude from the Morrissey College of Arts and Sciences), Chris Mastroianni (magna cum laude from the Morrissey College of Arts and Sciences), Maddie McGuire (Morrissey College of Arts and Sciences), Will Pickens (magna cum laude from the Carroll School of Management), Emma Relle (magna cum laude from the Morrissey College of Arts and Sciences), Olivia Spar (magna cum laude from the Lynch School of Education and Human Development) and Nick Temple (cum laude from the Carroll School of Management). …

Austin Odell graduated from Duke University with a degree in computer science and another in electrical and computer engineering. He also minored in economics. …

Among those receiving degrees from the University of New Hampshire were Jacqueline Lupinski (cum laude with a B.S. in human development and family studies), Jonathan Wolf (B.S. in business administration/marketing), Paige Harvey (B.A. in communication), Abigail Wilson (B.S. in nursing), Kelsey Marcou (B.S. in business administration/accounting), William Griffin (B.A. in communication) and Allison Scimone (magna cum laude with a B.S. in business administration/marketing). …

Nicholas Mirabile received a B.S. in aeronautical engineering, mechanical engineering, from Clarkson University. …

Will Ciesinski earned a bachelor’s degree from Assumption University. …

Julianna Kramer was honored at Union College’s annual Prize Day celebration, receiving the President’s Commission on the Status of Women Senior Thesis Prize and the Freling H. Smith (1865) Prize. …

Zachary Levy and Matthew Brodo were named to the president’s list for the winter term at Southern New Hampshire University. …

Emma Barker and Mikayla Cappetta were named to the dean’s list at Cedarville University in Ohio.

Editor’s note: Information for college honors is provided by the schools. Those interested in being included in this section should forward the information or request for the school to email it to: editor@hopkintonindependent.com.


Key Storage 4.14.22