Hopkinton, MA
Hopkinton, US
8:45 am, Thursday, February 22, 2024
temperature icon 27°F
Humidity 51 %
Wind Gust: 10 mph


Schools Notebook: HHS student wins Brain Bee; HHS Drama Ensemble’s ‘Twelve Angry Jurors’ this week; local collegians honored

by | Mar 8, 2022 | Education

Hopkinton High School freshman Ananya Kumar won the 16th annual Central Massachusetts Brain Bee on Feb. 5 with a near-perfect score. She now is eligible to compete in the National Brain Bee in April.

The Brain Bee, created by the Society for Neuroscience, is designed to bolster high school student interest in medical and laboratory neuroscience careers.

‘Twelve Angry Jurors’ this week

The HHS Drama Ensemble will perform the play “Twelve Angry Jurors” at the HHS auditorium. There are three shows: Thursday, March 10 (4 p.m.), Friday, March 11 (7 p.m.), and Saturday, March 12 (7 p.m.). For more information and to purchase tickets, visit showtix4u.com/event-details/61577. …

The Polar Plunge, an annual fundraiser for Special Olympics athletes in the community, is scheduled for Friday, March 18. It will be held at the field behind Hopkinton Middle School (outside Doyle Gym), where participants will pour water on their heads. For more information, email team captain Bianca Pal at bpal@hillers.org.

Garden Club offers scholarship

The Hopkinton Garden Club is soliciting applications for its 2022 scholarship. The deadline is April 22. The $1,000 scholarship is open to applicants maintaining legal residence in Hopkinton for at least one year. Preference is given to graduating high school seniors pursuing the fields of horticulture, floriculture, landscape design, forestry, conservation, environmental sciences and related fields.

Applications may be obtained through the Hopkinton High School Guidance Department, the Joseph Keefe Technical School Guidance Office and the Hopkinton Garden Club website (hopkintongardenclub.org).

Local collegians honored

The University of Massachusetts’ dean list for the fall 2021 semester includes a number of Hopkinton residents: Morgan Allen, Molly Andrews, Julia Annenberg, Lahcen Aqdim, Hayden August, Kendal August, Haley Auslander, Haley Bernardo, Tess Bouvier, Ethan Champlin, Alan Chen, Jordyn Cheverie, Jake Chirco, Fletcher Clark, Olivia Coelho, Caleb Dacey, Camran Fattahy, Anne Feather, Nathan Foster, Natalia Gomez Donate, Christopher Hadley, Kamron Haghighi, Tyler Holbrow, Zachary Holbrow, Zachary Horgan, Ellora Hoyt, An-Chi Huang, Olivia Hyman, Luke Joseph, Amanda Kelley, Victoria Kray, Alexandra Lazarov, Allison Leeret, Tobin Lock, Abraham Lukose, Alex Mack, Justin Mak, Sophia Malik, Ben Morey-Beale, Samuel Morningstar, Hannah Murphy, Robert Pagliuca, Taylor Parduhn, Kyle Perkins, William Quinlan, Devontae Rivera, Jack Rodgers, Calvin Rodman, Andrew Smith, Danielle Sullivan, Evan Theodorou, Xilonen Vela-Garcia, Maya Vumbaca, Caroline Wauters, Patrick Webb, Emily Whelan and Ansley Worrell. …

Brianna Maloney was named to the dean’s list at Emerson College. …

At Clark University, Natalie Beck earned first honors, while Sarah Gallagher and Callie-Rose Ronan received second honors. …

Jack Watson was named to the dean’s list at Wake Forest University. …

At Cedarville University, Mikayla Cappetta, a sophomore majoring in middle child education, was named to the dean’s honor list. …

Sarah Todd was named to the dean’s list at Providence College. …

Justin Wade, who is in the software engineering program, was named to the dean’s list at Rochester Institute of Technology. …

Alannah Miller was named to the dean’s honor list at Ursinus College. …

At the College of Charleston, Jessica Beck, who is majoring in international studies and political science, and Caitlin Dean, who is majoring in psychology, were named to the president’s list.

Editor’s note: Information for college honors is provided by the schools. Those interested in being included in this section should forward the official notification or request for the school to email it to editor@hopkintonindependent.com.