Superintendent Carol Cavanaugh emailed schools families Tuesday with details for those who are planning to travel out of state during February vacation next week.
Cavanaugh requested that parents of any students leaving the state notify the student’s principal and school nurse.
As per the governor’s travel order, all visitors entering Massachusetts, including returning residents who do not meet an exemption, are required to:
● Complete the Massachusetts Travel Form prior to arrival, unless visiting from a lower-risk state designated by the Department of Public Health (DPH).
● Quarantine for 10 days or produce a negative COVID-19 test result that has been administered up to 72-hours prior to arrival in Massachusetts.
● Quarantine until test results are received. If a COVID-19 test result has not been received prior to arrival, visitors and residents must quarantine until they receive a negative test result.
Failure to comply may result in a $500 fine per day.
Students may return to school with a negative PCR test result in accordance with DPH regulations, Cavanaugh noted. “For children 10 and younger, you may choose not to test and instead submit a negative PCR of the household adult that accompanied the child for travel,” she wrote.
Any questions regarding the process should be directed to Hopkinton public health director Shaun McAuliffe.